Listen to Audio Excerpts from the CD
1: The Silly Monkeys Listen
2: The Talkative Tortoise Listen
3: The Misguided Elephant Listen
4: The Over Ambitious Bird Listen
5: Strength in Unity Listen
6: The Fowler and the Quails Listen
7: The Oxen and the Pig Listen
8: The Crocodile and the Monkey Listen
9: The Monkey King Listen
10: The Generous Hare Listen

'The Silly Monkeys and Other Fables' is a delightful collection of engaging tales, told with clarity, humour and excellent musical accompaniment.

"Rachel Miller’s tellings of the Jataka tales are a delight, a delicious fusing of words, music and sound effects – the flute is particularly haunting and evocative."
Matt Harvey, Poet, BBC Radio 4

"These stories are beautifully brought to life for children and parents a-like, this is sure to put a smile on your face, it did for me".
Gina Sherman - Apples & Snakes, UK’s leading organisation for performance poetry

"My daughter has listened to these tales over and over again. I love them too. Fantastic!"
Lisa Green, Angelheart Theatre

These fables are from a collection of over 500 known as the Jataka Tales, said to have been recounted by Gotama the Buddha to his disciples.

This collection was adapted by the writer John Snelling, who retold them in a modern idiom. The stories are humorous, eminently down to earth and full of common sense.

Storyteller Rachel Miller brings the tales to life with evocative original music, capturing both the humour and the heart of the tales.

A delight for both children and adults.

The Jataka tales are dated between 300 BC and 400 AD. Many of the tales are set in or near Benares, now called Varanasi, a city in north central India on the Ganges River. One of the world's oldest cities, Varanasi is the most sacred place for Hindus.

Although in their original form the stories are unmistakably Indian and Buddhist, they also posses the quality of universality to a high degree. Versions of them have travelled to the West and have appeared in the works of writers like Aesop, Herodotus, Chaucer, Boccaccio, and more recently, Bertolt Brecht.

John Snelling (1943 - 1992) was a well known researcher, editor, writer, broadcaster and painter. He has written many popular books on Buddhism including The Buddhist Handbook.

These tales were originally published in a book titled '10 Buddhist fables' and published by the Buddhist Publishing Group.

Rachel Miller is a musician, composer and storyteller recognised for work which is original and spellbinding. As both a professional musician and storyteller she weaves together sound and words creating a rich and atmospheric world. For more information about her work, see

Text - John Snelling
Music composed and arranged by Rachel Miller
Indian percussion - Russel Harris
Indian flute - Rachel Miller
Mixing and editing - Richard Gonski
Natural sounds courtesy of
Buddhist Publishing Group for permission to use this material.